8 Years

In 2007 I changed my name. It was the second time I had done so. The first time was 2003 when I married. 4 years later I changed it again when I became a Mom. It is rare that I hear my given name. For the past 8 years I have been an at-home mom.

Tomorrow, is something new. I will have both children in school. I will drop both of them off and pick them up. I’ve written before about landmarks, tomorrow will be one of those landmarks in my life. I hope with this change that other landmarks will appear on the horizon. I’m also trying not to get ahead of myself. Yes, I will have time alone but I won’t be able to paint my entire house in that time. I need to be rational and logical in my approach to things. Many of my peers have said that when both of their children were in school they would celebrate with champagne. I always said, “On that day, I’m going to be able to fold laundry in 20 minutes instead of two hours!”

I don’t actually know what tomorrow will bring. Will I increase my domestic goddess powers? Will I find a part time employment? Will I devote more time to volunteering at the school? I honestly don’t know. All I do know is that tomorrow will be different.

Leave a Reply

