Once in a Lifetime

Now perhaps I’m just being nostalgic but the 80’s had some fine music.  Going through my library and listened to Once in a Lifetime by Talking Heads.  As kid I thought it was just a funny song, now I listen to it and think of people going through a midlife crisis.  I’m 35, mid-life is my age.  I don’t mind being halfway to 70 in fact I like it!  Yet sometimes I find myself asking, “How, did I get here?”

My blog posts have been wan of late, (all right it’s been nearly six months).  It’s not that things are boring I just find myself giving the excuse of no time.  That is a bit of lie, I do have time I just don’t apply it to this.  There are a lot of Mommy blogs out there and I don’t want to become another woman bemoaning and praising child-rearing in one breath all of the time. It’s strange that while sometimes aspects of my life infuriate me (this happens to all of us) there are people that would love to have this.

A woman I knew in a Company I danced with is having fertility issues.  It’s such a benign term, fertility issues.  As I read about her experiences I’m struck by her deep longing.  I’m sure she has asked, “How, did I get here?”

I do hope her and her husband’s journey is not to fraught with heartbreak.

Leave a Reply

