Another Round

Tomorrow school will begin again officially ending the summer break. It is fitting today that the skies have clouded over, it is windy and and sporadically raining. This is good visual to the kids that tomorrow will not be a day of constant play. Evie will be going to preschool twice a week and I will be lucky enough to have a good 3 hours solid block sans children. I already have my day planned out. It doesn’t involve bon bons or daytime television. Get ready for this, I’m going to scrub my bathtub!

Scrub it with an industrial brush and get all the bits that I know I miss when I usually clean it. I will be able to unload the dishwasher in less than 20 minutes and fold a basket of laundry in under 3 hours. I’m looking forward to doing chores uninterrupted and making a market with my list and actually buying everything on the list! Of course there should be sometime left over for me to read a chapter of a book. I have been dreaming of this for seven years.

Just this past weekend something happened that hasn’t occurred in seven years. Sean and Evie spent the night with at Ahouseholdkate’s house. It was the first time that Anonymous and I had a night, a full night, from sundown to sunrise with children. We were able to watch a show we wanted to watch on the the telly with the volume up. It all felt very strange and surreal.

Everyone uses the phrase, “It’s gets better.” when referring to children or other situations. My stock retort to this is, “When does it get good?” I think things might be shifting in that direction.

Leave a comment