Apples

I had a conversation yesterday with a friend.  She’s a high school physical education teacher and very fit.  During the summer she teaches classes at a local gym and truth be told I’m in awe.  We exchanged stories of what we had gotten up to since the end of kindergarden.  I hesitantly told her that I had signed up for a 5k and that I was (and am) taking my time to train for it.  She nodded in understanding.  I then said, “You could probably run a 5k in your sleep!”  At this she just shook her head and said No.  She had an ACL repair when she was 17 and that running hurts her knee too much.  I thought that this woman was akin to Superman and it was a good lesson for me that everyone has their limits and to stop comparing yourself to others.

Leave a Reply

