Don’t get ahead of yourself

“Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.” Buddha

I’m trying to live in the moment and not that YOLO crap that is floating around pretending to be the above.  Yesterday I had a good day woke up and took a walk and this morning while I was able to get up a little earlier and still walk I didn’t have the energy I did yesterday and I had pain and I feel almost guilty that I’m not at the level that I was.  I’m trying to not let this bum me out but I feel as though it is a setback of sorts which makes me think of all the setbacks I have had.

I have heard all the inspirational crap of how setbacks make us stronger blah blah blah.  But at the moment I feel like Mr. Krabs from Spongebob, “What doesn’t kill you generally succeeds on it’s second attempt.”  I feel as though this imagined/perceived weakness will bleed through into tomorrow.  I must remember that tomorrow is promised to no one and if I get to have a tomorrow and go for a walk then that is an accomplishment and not a setback.  I know that this post reads like a quintessential first world problem.  There are many in the world that would kill to have a day like I did yesterday and that I really should shut up and be grateful.  So I will make a conscious commitment to not get ahead of myself.

Leave a Reply

