The Rings

I wear two rings around my neck and sometimes people ask about them.  Generally they ask about the smaller one first.  I explain that it was my Mother’s eternity ring, my brother wears her wedding band.  Most people put two and two together and then ask when she died.  Well this gets funny or sad.  I was in a store the other day with Sean and Evelyn and the checkout lady asked about my rings.  First she asked about the smaller one and I said, “oh this was my mother’s”  She got misty a bit then asked about the larger one I replied “It’s my husbands” she looks at Sean and Evelyn and damn near breaks down!  I had to quickly amend that my husband is not dead it is just that the original wedding ring we bought can not be sized since it is titanium.

Leave a Reply

