The Parasol

Image

Image

I did some clearing out today and I found the parasol.  My Mum used it when she got married.  When she was dying my Dad asked her what she wanted her final clothes to be and she wanted her wedding dress.  I remembered that she had put the veil away somewhere in Fresno and in San Clemente we couldn’t find it.  Also missing was the parasol.  A couple of years after she died I was getting married and while I was rustling in a closet out shot a plastic cylinder–it was the parasol!  I used it in my own wedding and perhaps someday Evelyn might want to have it as well.  As for the Veil, G-Jen (my dad’s wife) was going through a moving box and my dad off hand said, “that’s probably all donate” she had the presence of mind to go through it and found the British labeled veil box. She put it aside and gave it to me.  Here is a photo of their wedding day.

Leave a Reply

