Makes me sad

When I was young I knew I would want to have children and be an at-home mom.  I thought that my mom would give me tips and pointers.  When she died, well before I had children or was married,  I still wanted children but was terrified at the aspect of not having her counsel.  Another much loved maternal figure in my life is dying and I really feel adrift. I have no maps and the guides I do know are somewhat remote.  More than that I feel sad that our kids will not have their knowledge or input.  I have put a few things away for Sean and Evie, things from these women which I will give to them when they are older.  I can tell them who they belonged to and how much these women love them.  Nevertheless inanimate objects can’t feel as good as a hug.

One thought on “Makes me sad

Leave a Reply

