Hospice

My first experience with hospice was with my mother.  I can’t say enough good things about it.  My grandfather is being transferred to St. Luke’s hospice sometime this week.  My Nan doesn’t seem to understand, or is choosing no to, that hospice is not a place you generally go to get well.  I told her that hospice is the best place for him and that he will be well cared for.  Hospice is one best things in the medical community however it is often under-utilized. Many patients refuse hospice seeing it as giving up.  I think hospice is a gift letting the patient spend their final days in comfort allowing them to prepare for their final journey in relative peace.

Leave a Reply

