prairie sickness

This was the term given to nazi soldiers in Russia during World War II.  The German forces would have symptoms rivaling dementia because there were no visible landmarks on the horizon to ground them.  Fortunaetly the locals knew how to combat this and the nazi’s.  I feel as though I have prairie sickness, throughout my life I’ve had landmarks to mark the way.  As of now I can’t think of any landmarks and the ones I can think of are way off into the horizon.  I’m not unhappy, infact I’m quite happy in my current position in life.  Nonetheless that positions is Lost. While I’m sure many of you are shaking your head muttering “so what?” I would like to know when and if you have felt this way?  As if you are constantly running but you have no clue what towards. How and when did you reach whatever it was that you were trying to get to and was it what you thought it would be?

I have just realized that the San Joaquin Valley where I spent a great portion of my life is a prairie.

4 thoughts on “prairie sickness

  1. I think I know where you’re coming from. After 21, the next major milestone is retirement age at 65. Some people will get married and/or have babies along the way, but those aren’t set in stone like everything we know up until 21 (or 25 if you get excited about renting cars around here).

    I’ve learned to make my own milestones. From the simple, “Hey look! I made it to Friday!” to, “Hey look! I’ve paid over 50% of my student loans back!” to, “Hey look! I don’t feel so bad about that thing I did way back when!”

    That said, I think we should come up with things for the ages of 28, 34, 39.7, 42 (naturally), and 53 so that we can have more things to look forward to before the mystical 65. I’ll let you know when I think of things.

  2. So what’s the milestone for 39.7? I’m turing 31 tomorrow and thinking that this year should be the year of Baskin Robbins (31 flavors). I totally have felt the way you’re feeling. Your next milestone is Sean going off to kindergarten which is not far away at all…

Leave a Reply

