Leeches Would Be Preferable

If I liked Physical Therapy then it wouldn’t be physical therapy. The treadmill is the bane of my existence. I was placed sideways on the treadmill and had to sidestep. American football players now have some respect from me. After gritting my teeth and stifling moans my therapist took pity on me and put me in the regular position on the treadmill. I was then subjected to modified squats with the aid of chair. Placement at the parallel bars led to stair stepping.  Another woman shared the bars with me, she had her hip replaced and her experience made me think.

Last session I was struck by how the therapist didn’t really listen. Perhaps it’s a good thing.  Many of the patients I saw during my session had a defeatist attitude.  One man would not do exercises and the ones he did do were done incorrectly.  The lady on the parallel bars kept say “I can’t do it, I can’t do it” over and over again.  I do anything and everything they (the therapists) tell me to do.  I do them whether they hurt or not and most of the exercises hurt like a son of a bitch.

The upside to all the pain I was subjected to was an endorphine release.  If you are a runner or ever had a tattoo you know what I’m referring to.   I was told that it will take 6-8 weeks for my muscle to build up in my left leg.  I have another session next Tuesday.

One thought on “Leeches Would Be Preferable

Leave a Reply

